• Login
  • Search
  • Print
  • Sitemap

Additional Scouting Awards

The Boy Scouts of America provides many opportunities for recognition through many various awards.

William T. Hornaday Award 

Conservation and the Boy Scouts of America have been partners for a long time. Camping, hiking, and respect for the outdoors are a part of the Scouting heritage. Many of the requirements for advancement from Tenderfoot through Eagle Scout rank call for an increasing awareness and understanding of the natural sciences. Many former Scouts have become leaders in conserving our environment and protecting it from abuse. Right now Scouts are involved in learning about environmental problems and actively working to make a difference.

This awards program was created to recognize those that have made significant contributions to conservation. It was begun in 1914 by Dr. William T. Hornaday, director of the New York Zoological Park and founder of the National Zoo in Washington, D.C. Dr. Hornaday was an active and outspoken champion of natural resource conservation and a leader in saving the American bison from extinction. He named the award the Wildlife Protection Medal. Its purpose was to challenge Americans to work constructively for wildlife conservation and habitat protection. After his death in 1937, the award was renamed in Dr. Hornaday's honor and became a Boy Scouts of America award.

In the early 1970s, the present awards program was established with funding from the DuPont Company. At that time, the late Dr. Hornaday's idea of conservation was broadened to include environmental awareness.

The Hornaday Awards are highly prized by those who have received them: Approximately 1,100 medals have been awarded over the past 80 years. These awards represent a substantial commitment of time and energy by individuals who have learned the meaning of a conservation/environmental ethic. Any Boy Scout, Varsity Scout, or Venturer willing to devote the time and energy to work on a project based on sound scientific principles and guided by a conservation professional or a well-versed layperson can qualify for one of the Hornaday Awards. The awards often take months to complete, so activities should be planned well in advance.

The fundamental purpose of the Hornaday Awards program is to encourage learning by the participants and to increase public awareness about natural resource conservation. Understanding and practicing sound stewardship of natural resources and environmental protection strengthens Scouting's emphasis on respecting the outdoors. The goal of this awards program is to encourage and recognize truly outstanding efforts undertaken by Scouting units, Scouts and Venturers, adult Scouters, and other individuals, corporations, and institutions that have contributed significantly to natural resource conservation and environmental protection.

Applications for the William T. Hornaday Award may be found HERE at the National Boy Scouts of America website.

Applications must be submitted to:

Crossroads of America Council, BSA
ATTN: Conservation Committee
7125 Fall Creek Road North
Indianapolis, IN 46256

Upon approval by the council conservation committee, the approved application is sent to Boy Scouts of America National Conservation Committee for consideration.  Please note that neither the Crossroads of America Council's nor the National Conservation Committee meet regularly.  The approval process will take several months to obtain results.

North Star Award

The National Court of Honor introduces a new award to join the prestigious Silver Beaver, Silver Antelope, and Silver Buffalo awards. This award is for non-Scouters. Councils, areas, regions, and national may use this new award to recognize individuals for significant contributions such as contributing land for a new service center or for the CPA who has served the council for years or for use at a Distinguished Citizen Awards program. This award is on par with the Silver Beaver which recognizes registered Scouters for their distinguished service.

Applications for the North Star Award may be found HERE at the National Boy Scouts of America website.