Join Scouting

Find a Local Unit

Find a local Boy Scout, Cub Scout, or Venturing unit at

Boy Scouts

Scout on a rock climbing adventureBoy Scouting is for boys 11 to 17 years of age. Boys also may become Boy Scouts if they have earned the Cub Scouting Arrow of Light Award and are at least 10 years old or have completed the fifth grade and are at least 10 years old.

The Boy Scouts of America is one of the nation's largest and most prominent values-based youth development organizations. The BSA provides a program for young people that builds character, trains them in the responsibilities of participating citizenship, and develops personal fitness.

For over a century, the BSA has helped build the future leaders of this country by combining educational activities and lifelong values with fun. The Boy Scouts of America believes — and, through over a century of experience, knows — that helping youth is a key to building a more conscientious, responsible, and productive society.

Boy Scout Oath
On my honor, I will do my best
To do my duty to God and my country
To obey the Scout Law
To help other people at all times
To keep myself physically strong, mentally awake and morally straight

Boy Scout Law
A Scout is:
and Reverent

Cub Scouts

Cub Scout playing Leap FrogCub Scouts is a year-round, family-friendly program designed for boys who are in the first grade through fifth grade (ages 7-10). Activities are used to achieve the focus of Scouting - citizenship training, character development and personal fitness. Many of the activities happen right in the den and pack.

In 1930, the Boy Scouts of America initiated a program to help younger boys through Cub Scouting. First graders are called Tiger Cubs and participate in the program with an adult partner. Second graders are called Wolves; third graders are Bears. Fourth- and fifth-grade (or 10-year-old) boys are called Webelos (WE'll BE LOyal Scouts) and participate in more advanced activities that begin to prepare them to become Boy Scouts. Parents, leaders, and organizations work together to achieve the purposes of Cub Scouting. Currently, Cub Scouting is the largest of the BSA's three membership divisions.

The 10 purposes of Cub Scouting are:

  1. Character Development 
  2. Spiritual Growth
  3. Good Citizenship
  4. Sportsmanship and Fitness
  5. Family Understanding
  6. Respectful Relationships
  7. Personal Achievement
  8. Friendly Service
  9. Fun and Adventure
  10. Preparation for Boy Scouts

Cub Scout Promise
I, (name), promise to do my best
To do my duty to God and my country,
To help other people, and
To obey the Law of the Pack.

Law of the Pack
The Cub Scout follows Akela.
The Cub Scout helps the pack go.
The pack helps the Cub Scout grow.
The Cub Scout gives goodwill.