Cub Scout Spark Kit

Cub Scouting

Cub Scouts is a year-round, family-friendly program designed for boys who are in the first grade through fifth grade (ages 7-10). Activities are used to achieve the focus of Scouting - citizenship training, character development and personal fitness. Many of the activities happen right in the den and pack.

In 1930, the Boy Scouts of America initiated a program to help younger boys through Cub Scouting. First graders are called Tiger Cubs and participate in the program with an adult partner. Second graders are called Wolves; third graders are Bears. Fourth- and fifth-grade (or 10-year-old) boys are called Webelos (WE'll BE LOyal Scouts) and participate in more advanced activities that begin to prepare them to become Boy Scouts. Parents, leaders, and organizations work together to achieve the purposes of Cub Scouting. Currently, Cub Scouting is the largest of the BSA's three membership divisions.

The 10 purposes of Cub Scouting are:

1. Character Development
2. Spiritual Growth
3. Good Citizenship
4. Sportsmanship and Fitness
5. Family Understanding
6. Respectful Relationships
7. Personal Achievement
8. Friendly Service
9. Fun and Adventure
10. Preparation for Boy Scouts

Cub Scout Promise
I, (name), promise to do my best
To do my duty to God and my country,
To help other people, and
To obey the Law of the Pack.

Law of the Pack
The Cub Scout follows Akela.
The Cub Scout helps the pack go.
The pack helps the Cub Scout grow.
The Cub Scout gives goodwill.

Youth Application
Cub Scout Lesson Plans