Close this search box.

Scouts BSA

Helping to prepare young boys and girls for adulthood through community engagement, leadership development and adventure.

Discover the value of Scouting

The time for adventure is now. If you’ve completed fifth grade or are between the ages of 10 and 17, you’re eligible to join Scouts BSA. Youth in Scouts BSA prove themselves in an environment that challenges their courage and tests their nerve. After they’ve received the proper guidance from those with experience and know-how, Scouts take the lead, going places they’ve never gone, seeing things they’ve never seen and diving into the rugged world of outdoor adventure, relying on teamwork and character accomplishment to overcome obstacles that might discourage everyone else.


Activities lead Scouts through their advancement journey, taking them from the earliest ranks up through Eagle Scout. Advancement is one of the eight methods used by Scout leaders to help fulfill the aims of Scouts BSA.


Camp programs are a core component of Scout life. Crossroads of America Council camps use natural settings to help Scouts develop physical, mental and spiritual growth. Scouts BSA camp at Ransburg Scout Reservation is a perfect location for Scouts to learn and succeed.


Adult volunteers are the backbone of Scouts BSA. The Crossroads of America Council is committed to providing high-quality programming, and our adult leaders help us achieve that goal.

Scouts BSA Advancement Plan

In Scouting, advancement is the process by which a member meets certain requirements and earns recognition. Youth in Scouts BSA plan their advancement and progress at their own pace as they meet each challenge. The Scout is rewarded for each achievement, which helps them gain self-confidence. The steps in the advancement system help Scouts grow in self-reliance and in the ability to help others.



Second Class

First Class



Eagle Scout

Working to advance toward Eagle?

Whether you’re a Tenderfoot Scout planning ahead to your Eagle or a Life Scout that’s currently working on your Eagle project, the Trail to Eagle Scout page has all the resources you need for your Eagle Scout rank.